LibGuides: English 10 Persuasive Speech: Research Resources

Credo Source Reference This link opens in a new window
This database should be the first stop for research! It provides reference and background information.
Britannica (via Badgerlink) This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia articles with images, maps, and other learning materials for high school students and educators
Explora (via Badgerlink) This link opens in a new window
General knowledge database

Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Find overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today's important social issues.
Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window
Issues & Controversies helps researchers understand today’s crucial issues by exploring hundreds of hot topics in politics, government, business, society, education, and popular culture.
Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window
Analyze important global issues and events through topic overviews, international viewpoints, news, and multimedia content.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista.com provides research institutions and the academic community, as well as business and corporate customers, with direct access to quantitative data on demographics, media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher provides original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. Each single-themed report is researched and written by a seasoned journalist, footnoted and professionally fact checked.

MAS Complete (via Badgerlink)
Use this database to access popular magazines (e.g. Sports Illustrated, The Economist, Atlantic Monthly, etc.)
Database Passwords

For Healthcare English Students:

Health Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Includes comprehensive, in-depth coverage of body systems, current health issues, major diseases and conditions, treatments, and procedures, as well as health and nutrition information specific to men, women, children, teens, and seniors.
Science in Context This link opens in a new window
Understand context for hundreds of science topics through overviews, journals, news, interactive experiments, and more.

New York Times
You must be in the building for this subscription to work.
Journal Sentinel
To login, check the database passwords
Pew Research Center
Pew Research Center conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research.
Center for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
National Institute of Health
Wisconsin Department of Health Services
Waukesha County Public Health
Mayo Clinic
World Health Organization